Steel Framed Houses

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

i am currently buying my first house and the surveyor has come back with an assumption that the house is a steel frame construction,

what are the tell signs that a house is a steel frame construction, what do you look for to find out if it is or not,

as the surveyor has not 100% said it is a stell frame construction, he has only popped his head into the loft and seen some steel,

the house was built in 1975 if thats helps any,

cheers

Halude

Sponsored Links
hmm I have no experience of surveying, so don't take my answer as set in stone. I can only give a personal opinion, not a professional one!.

Personally I couldn't care less what its made of as long as its safe, dry and secure.

In-fact, it may be better to have a steel roof. they are stronger and last longer..

can I ask why is this an issue to you?

i am currently buying my first house and the surveyor has come back with an assumption that the house is a steel frame construction,

"an assumption"?

If the surveyor cannot establish whether a house is steel frame construction or not then he hasn't competently surveyed the house. Get him to go back and do it properly and tell the selling agents that the surveyor requires sufficient access to do this. He should be able to tell whether the steels in the loft are part of the original structure or later repairs (and why - a 1970s house that needed structural repairs would set alarm bells clanging).

Or just walk away, there are other houses, more co-operative sellers and more clued-up surveyors out there.

Sponsored Links

"an assumption"?