Sticky Honeywell 3 port valve - what does "manual"

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I've got a Honeywell 3 port valve with classic "sticky" symptoms with a bias in favour of the hot water

i) if hot water on and put heating on, heating takes an age to warm up, and will only get as far as tepid on the downstairs rads
ii) if hot water only recently gone off and put heating on, takes an age to warm up (same as above)
iii) if both on together, once water cuts out (as hot enough) takes a while for heating to get up to speed.
iv) if heating on and water switched on, downstairs rads lose heat almost immediately, upstairs rads lose it too but not as quick

You get the picture.

Been like it for a while. In the past, a bit of wiggling backwards and forwards (AUTO to MAN) of the lever on the valve seemed to improve it for a while. Sometimes the lever moved freely, sometimes with resistance. Can't stay I studied it enough to know what was on or doing what when it moved freely or with resistance, just aware that it was different sometimes.

Now, all the lever wiggling in the world doesn't make any difference - whether I like it or not, hot water is king and central heating comes a poor second.

But can someone tell me what he MAN position actually does? Does it behave according to what is supposed to be on? Force the valve into a specific position? ?????

Any advice (in laymans total plumbing idiot terms) gratefully received.

Thanks
Martino

Sponsored Links
On the Honeywell 3-port valve (v4073), the manual lever basically moves it to the mid position. If the electric is switched off and the lever released, it should move by spring-power to the hot water position.

Thanks Mogget.

Have now decided enough is enough and have contacted "my man" to replace it. Looks like I should get warmer as from early next week.