Stiff, dry lining paper (wallrock) around corners.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello. I'm going to be lining a room's walls with Wallrock Premium (75cm wide) - chosen because a) the samples showed it to have the finish I wanted when painted and b) I have zero wallpapering experience so far and paste-the-wall products are supposedly easier to get right for idiots like me.

The room shape is as follows:

pj1nptc.png

(not in proportion, just rough)

The "gaps" in the black line are various windows and doors.

This lining paper is pretty stiff and because one pastes the wall it won't be soaked and pliable. Am I going to run into problems in some of the areas with many corners in a row? For instance there is one bit with three external corners and an internal corner on either side - five corners in about 50cm of wall length.

Do such situations call for horizontal paper so that there is a long stretch of flat wall on the same "drop", or can I still hang vertically here? Should I arrange for the butt joints to be anywhere in particular - such as tucked into the internal corners? Or, intentionally away from any corners?

Thanks for any tips.

Sponsored Links
I used this and was a bit worried about the corners but it seemed to be ok. I used a bit of overlap adhesive in a couple of places and I did go to the trouble of getting the pukka paste made by wallrock.
I found it nice stuff to work with.

I used this and was a bit worried about the corners but it seemed to be ok. I used a bit of overlap adhesive in a couple of places and I did go to the trouble of getting the pukka paste made by wallrock.
I found it nice stuff to work with.

Cool, thanks. I bought their recommended paste as well so at least I know that should be OK.

Did you have to crease it into internal corners or did you butt joints into them?