Strange problem with new extension

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello!

First of all i am not an electrician but need some help on how to progress with a problem i have. I apologise in advance if i'm not using the right lingo but i hope i'm making everything clear.

We've just had an extension of our lounge completed. Electrical fittings were 6 double plugs on a new ringmain and several spotlights all controlled by 3x 3gang dimmer

Dimmer switches:

Dimmer 1
a) controls a single GU10 50W Spotlight
b) controls 2 GU10 50W spotlights
c) controls a set of 4 50W GU10 spotlights

Dimmer 2
a) controls a set of 4 50W spotlights
b) controls a set of 4 50W spotlights
c) controls 1 GU10 50W spotlights

Dimmer 3
a) controls 1 single GU10 Spotlight
b) controls 1 single GU10 Spotlight
c) controls 2 GU10 50W spotlights

The dimmers are getplc and rated at 60-300W per gang.

Every now and then we hear a loud 'bang' that appears to come from either the ceiling or behind a wall's plasterboard. A millisecond before the bang the lights (everywhere in the
house) dim for a fraction of a second. This could occur once every few hours or even a few times within the space of a few seconds. It also occurs when all lights in the lounge are off and also when there is nothing plugged into the lounge sockets.

The work was carried out by a building company and further inspected by another electrician. He performed wiring tests on all sockets, lights and fusebox and found no problem and he is equally confused. Unfortunately we had no 'bang' while
he was here which may have helped in diagnosis. We have the electrical installation certificate.

The only compatability issue here is the dimmer controls that control only one spotlight at 50W, rather than the minimum of 60W. The electrician said that the problem we have would not be caused by not meeting this threshold; the said light would only flicker.

So we are completely stumped and require opinions assistance from experts!!