Suggestions to tackle this bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I recently found myself homeless so took whatever the council would offer me. Sadly the place I took is in a bit of a state.

The bath panels need replacing. Out of interest, what is the cheapest way to cut shapes out of bath panels like this, to make room for pipes? Is it just a case of scoring it again and again with a stanley knife until it breaks?

I have no experience tiling walls but I think it would be best to rip off the tiles and redo it as the workmanship is pretty shoddy.

However the bathroom suite is pretty ****e so maybe the suite needs replacing too. Don't have the money for that though sadly. I'm told removing the taps can be awkward?

Any ideas how to get the surface flat? It's very raised above the tiles. Wouldn't sanding it be a bad idea as it'll release loads of toxic stuff into the air? Is it worth renting an electric sander with a very efficient vacuum cleaner or should I skim it here? Will I find it very difficult to get the edges right if skimming without the right tools?

I definitely think I should seal with PVA and skim the next bit. I've bought some ready made plastering skim from Wickes for the job for 14.99.

There's lots of other jobs in the flat that need doing too but won't go into those just now.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Are your landlords happy for you to undertake DIY in their property?

DIY is encouraged but were I to rip tiles off, left and didn't replace I wohld understandably be billed for it to be rectified. Saying that looking at the state the property was in when I took it, they don't seem to enforce this very well or maybe just don't bother to lok for it.

There's a moving in standard that the property should have met but I think with all these budget cuts the councils get quite lax.

Sponsored Links
There is the HHSRS and Housing Quality Standard they need to adhere to.

How old is the kitchen and boiler? Is it gas or storage rads?