Suitable books for electricians course

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I will be changing my career next year and want to re train as an electrician. The course starts next year but as I am a complete novice I would like to have a basic understanding before I start. Which books could I purchase, as there seems to be a lot on the market.

Any help is gratefully appreciated.

Sponsored Links
When I attended a course I was given a book list. In fact many of the pages required were provided as part of the course. You are far better asking the lecturers on the course than asking on here.

There are some standard books BS7671:2008 for example and the guide to it but by next year amendment 2 may be published and jumping the gun could be expensive.

You can join the IET as a student member which means you can buy the books cheaper that is what I did. The meetings are very interesting and include pre-views to what will happen in the future. Again I attended many of these in my area but will admit I was an electrician before I took my degree and got interested in the IET.

Most good education establishments will encourage IET membership but some lecturers feel undermined when students are more up to date than them selves.

I would say library is your friend. Don't forget most collages have a library where you can read books but until enrolled you can't remove but you can still read in the library.

I had a lot of time before my course started, so what I did was learn the regs using the NICEIC workbook. http://www.amazon.co.uk/7671-Learning-Guide-2008-Understanding/dp/1906091048
Gave me a huge leg up and the parts it covered were done much better than the course provided explanations.
The 2382 exam itself was a doddle once I'd worked through the book - no need to spend money on a course - just do the exam through the IET.

Sponsored Links
I will take your advice and wait until I enroll on the course.