suprima not responding on ch only hw

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi guys, its my first time on this forum aswell as my first time with a boiler problem!! My potterton suprima is not firing up (not even the fan or any signs of life) however the hw powers up perfectly. It is obvious (is it?) to suggest that all the mechanical parts are ok ie pump , fan etc as it is fine on the hw side of things. I read the forums and the pcb seemed to play up so i soldered the dry joints but no change (i may have missed some bits). Iam no expert but it al points to the problem being the pcb but if the hw works fine could this still be the case? (could it be that the part of the ciruit board controls the ch seperatly and that bit happens to be faulty?

Sponsored Links
my very first thought would be to change the sychron motor on the 3 port valve or on the heating zone valve. If you have a 3 port valve there should be a little lever on the side....push it across a little bit more and your heating will fire up. If it does get a new motor to go in the valve head.

cheers for the advice but where is this valve , or what does it look like ?
im not experienced .

probably in your airing cupboard. You will either have 2 valves with big square heads on them and an electric cable and each valve having 2 pipes connected to it, or you will have just one with 3 pipes connected.
Either this
pwhv0013s.jpg

or this
pwhv0012s.jpg

The heads will look different for different brands, but the body will look the same

Sponsored Links
oh dear, have a broke it? i pulled the only lever i could find towards myself (it was a bit stiff, felt like i was pulling agains the motor) and it hasnt made a difference. The water still works but no responce from the heating. Shame that cos i thought we was onto a winner .

Even on the hook it won't get the boiler on. You can get that going for now by putting the hot water on. Id you've opened the way to the rads they'll get warm at the same time.