Surface preparation question...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

I've never done any tiling before but most people I speak to say that's not that hard and well worth a go. I've recently moved into an old house with a really old bathroom that I am getting replaced. The plumbers are booked in for late October.

Question 1: Is it worth re-tiling part or all of it before they come?

Question 2: the current bathroom is part tiled. If I remove all the old tiles, do I need to do anything to the old surface before re-tiling it? (other than get all the old adhesive and grout off...?)

Question 3: I'd planned to tile all the walls up to the ceiling. 2 walls mosaic(around the shower bath) and 2 walls standard tile. The untiled walls have been painted with that horrible bathroom paint (very shiny glossy stuff in purple!) Is it ok to tile over this? Do I need to do anything to it before?

Any recommendations for adhesive/grout?

It seems BAL is the top choice after reading a few posts. I'm a complete novice here - does it come in different types? for different backgrounds / tiles?

Thanks for any advice or pearls of wisdom.

Sponsored Links
blondebier said:
Hi Guys,
I've never done any tiling before but most people I speak to say that's not that hard and well worth a go.
It's not, as long as you prepare properly and tile correctly.

blondebier said:
Question 1: Is it worth re-tiling part or all of it before they come?
Only if you can get behind the basin and toilet - but if your bathroom is already fitted (and your new toilet and basin are in the same positions) then you won't be able to. You'll have to tile around the toilet and basin, or temporarily pull them away from the walls and refit after tiling.

blondebier said:
Question 2: the current bathroom is part tiled. If I remove all the old tiles, do I need to do anything to the old surface before re-tiling it? (other than get all the old adhesive and grout off...?)