switch blowing main fuse

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's right, the extractor and the light were on the same circuit and the extractor was causing the problem. When you switched on the light you also switched on the extractor.
FFS.

And you didn't think to mention this right at the start?

:evil:

Sponsored Links
Never mind, at least a sparky got a call out fee to buy some chips for the family, although next time OP, if you give all details then we here may be able to help you or save you a few quid. You got off lucky, esp with it being a conversion, if upstairs had damaged a cable of yours it could get quite messy trying to sort it out!

Thanks boys, to the sarcastic ones among you, if you bothered to read what I wrote you would have found all the info. It didn't take me long to add info as requested or as it came to me, it's not my problem if you missed it. If I was an electrician I wouldn't need to post questions here would I? The sparks was good, I couldn't have solved the problem so I would have needed to call him out anyway. ban-all-sheds put me on your ignore list.

To everybody else, thanks.

Sponsored Links
All the info is not here:
One wall mounted light switch is causing the lighting circuit fuse on the consumer unit to blow. All other switches work fine. I noticed the switch was faulty so have changed it but the fuse still blows. Problems in changing the switch are that the wiring is old so the cables are black and red and the old switch isn't marked at all. So, I may have reversed he wiring but can't work out if this could be causing the problem to continue or even if I have the right solution. I've checked the other wiring as far as possible and it seems fine. The switch seems to be the key to it. Any info and advice is welcome.
Nor here:
So everything had been working fine, and without you changing/adding/fiddling with anything whatsoever on that circuit the fuse started blowing whenever you turned the light on?

That's exactly right.