1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Taking a range induction cooker to France

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by darrenh, 21 Jun 2020.

  1. darrenh

    darrenh

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all

    I am taking a range cooker to france and the kitchen fitter in France has asked that I check if the current feed at the house is suitable. To do this I believe I need to check the size of the current cable and the dedicated fuse from the fuse box that feeds it.

    The oven specifications list the following:
    Electrical Connection 19.5KW
    Fuse rating 53 amps

    can anyone help me with sizing the cable required for this - eg 4mm - and fuse (60amp??)

    Distance to fuse box to cooker is 8m

    Thanks

    Darren
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Tigercubrider

    Tigercubrider

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    3,172
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know when my mate lived in France he had a lot of issues

    A bit like the USA, (at least where he was) they had lots of power in the basement but far less in the actual house.
     
  4. darrenh

    darrenh

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Getting the power to the cooker isn’t an issue - it’s just working out what power, what cable size and what fuse
     
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,002
    Thanks Received:
    2,176
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Best you get a copy of the wring regulations for France or employ a competent French electrician to advise you.

    It may be that it has to divided to use 2 phases if diversity cannot be legally applied.

    Diversity can be applied if it will not be running at 19.4 kW all the time one is using it.

    Using it the UK requires a 10 mm cable.

    From https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Technical/Charts/VoltageDrop.html

    upload_2020-6-21_14-20-36.png
     

    Attached Files:

  6. darrenh

    darrenh

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does that imply an 85amp fuse?? Manufacturer says 53.
     
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,002
    Thanks Received:
    2,176
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if the unit was running at 19.5 kW it would need an 85 Amp fuse,

    The manufacturer say 53 Amp ( 12.0 kW ) suggests that diversity can be applied to the unit when in use.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. darrenh

    darrenh

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for taking the time Bernand. Much appreciated. Given an MCB comes as 50amp or next up is 63amp ... I assume I should be going for 63amp. I would be tempted to go for a 50amp as rare we will have more than a couple of hobs and ovens running at same time. What would be the issue being of using one or another?
     
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    32,141
    Thanks Received:
    3,484
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Is the 19.5kW quoted at 240V?

    Can you post a picture of the cable terminal connections on the cooker?
     
  11. Bobby Dazzler

    Bobby Dazzler

    Joined:
    9 May 2020
    Messages:
    1,088
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Country:
    France
    There is another aspect than the cabling for the cooker. Usually supplies from the distributor are limited by your contract.
    The supply cables to the property will probably be OK, but the changes are made at the meter.
    The supply companies are in the process of changing the meters for Smart Meters.
    I don't think there is a free market for suppliers like there is in UK. It's EDF or lump it.

    More info' here.
    If the power keeps tripping off when you attempt to use a number of high-powered appliances simultaneously, it probably means that the rating (puissance) of your power supply is too low. This is a common problem in France. If this is the case, you must ask the EDF to uprate the power supply to your property, although this can increase your standing charge (see below) by up to 40 per cent.​

    The power setting is usually shown on your meter (compteur). The possible ratings are 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 24, 30 and 36 kilowatts (KW or Kva). To calculate the power supply required, list all the electrical appliances you have (plus any you intend installing, such as an electric shower or dishwasher) and the power consumption of each. Add the power consumption of the appliances you’re likely to operate simultaneously to obtain the total number of kilowatts required.
    https://www.frenchentree.com/living-in-france/decoration/electricity-in-france/
     
  12. ChrisEll66

    ChrisEll66

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unless the house is on a 3 phase supply you won't be able to run that on a domestic supply - its the practicality there just won't be enough amps coming into the house. 36KVA is three phase in France and its the most you can get - 12KVA is the common domestic feed. My entire house is fused at less than your cooker.
     
  13. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,801
    Thanks Received:
    3,373
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    @darrenh

    The numbers are rather large. Can you show us a pic?

    When you say "range" do you mean, like some Agas, it is intended to heat hot water or radiators?
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page