1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Temperature monitor and alarm for Chest Freezer?

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by Rollerball, 6 Aug 2019.

  1. Rollerball

    Rollerball

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My old chest freezer doesn't have a temperature alarm and I'm wondering if there is such a thing as a good wireless temperature monitor/alarm for a chest freezer. I see online that there are various wireless alarms but they are really designed for fridges and their small freezer compartments, would the remote sensor and its wireless electronics continue to work correctly when placed inside a freezer at -18 celcius? I doubt it somehow.

    Searching online hasn't found anything suitable.
     
    Last edited: 6 Aug 2019
  2. jj4091

    jj4091

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    4,423
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Rollerball

    Rollerball

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks very much, but unfortunately none of those are available in the UK.
     
  4. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,701
    Thanks Received:
    1,986
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the sensor inside a metal box ( the freezer ) working at -18°C the wireless link to the display outside the box might not be "good".

    Note that alkaline batteries stop producing power at about -3°C so you will need to purchase Lithium batteries that will operate at -18°C or lower,
     
  5. Rollerball

    Rollerball

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, noted re the batteries and wireless unreliability.

    I only mentioned wireless because I can't think of a good way to feed a wired probe into the freezer from an externally mounted unit. I suppose, as the wire is usually thin, I could just loop it over the edge of the freezer and hope that the magnetic strip still seals okay?? Or is there a better way to use a wired probe ?
     
  6. jj4091

    jj4091

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    4,423
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Rollerball

    Rollerball

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks I'll take a look.
     
  8. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    14,085
    Thanks Received:
    1,511
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Rollerball

    Rollerball

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I've now got hold of a wired thermometer but the hinge is outside of the seal, in other words there is no convenient place to route the probe's wire. I can though close the lid just fine with the wire draped over the seal and there's no apparent gap due to the wire being so thin. I guess this is unlikely to affect the efficiency of the freezer?
     
Loading...

Share This Page