1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Temporary disconnect PIR

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by NickB_99, 21 May 2010.

  1. NickB_99

    NickB_99

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all

    Hoping this is a simple one.

    I need to plaster a wall which has a PIR in the top corner. I need to temporarily disconnect the PIR and probably take the sensor off the wall for a while.

    I figure there may be 3 options:
    1) shut the power off for the house before then disconnect PIR. I suspect this will this make no odds - alarm does have battery backup.

    Was reading some posts on PIR replacement.

    2) I have got the engineer code for the alarm, so do I put this in and then try to disconnect power and return at the PIR?

    3) Need to disconnect at the alarm panel first?

    4) something else (sorry, new to this :oops: )
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Denford1

    Denford1

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You haven't told us what panel , but generally , open panel , internal alarm sounds , key in user code , alarm stops , remove the wires going into the 12+v supply terminal.Now you can remove the PIR without the fuse blowing.Make a note of where the wires go ( take a picture if poss ).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. NickB_99

    NickB_99

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Denford1, Sorry I had meant the control unit panel in the garage (not the keypad local to the exit/entry).

    Your description makes sense, thanks.

    I'll do a bit of reading up as to which wire colour means what. New to alarms!
     
  5. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,964
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Six different people could have installed that alarm and all of them could have used a different combination of colours.

    Take note of the markings in the detector and the colour of the cable used.

    I suspect the 12v supply (+pos &-neg) will be shown as + & - , just make sure you do not touch these two together, if you do a fuse will blow in the control panel and will need to be replaced.

    Good luck.
     
  6. NickB_99

    NickB_99

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, got the PIR off (disabled alarm after bell sounded) and colours as follows:
    T1 Blue
    T2 Yellow
    C Red
    NC Black
    V- Green
    V+ White

    I thought that in order to continue to use the alarm I needed to leave the tampers joined and then the alarm would set (hope this was right!)
    Did that and tried to set alarm.
    Keypad indicates 'Dining Room Can't set! Check'
    (it is the dining room)

    Any ideas?
    Have I connected the wrong wires or do I need to do more?
    (guessing not the V+ and V- ;) )
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,964
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do more.

    Join your Red & Black together - Alarm pair

    Join your Blue & Yellow together - Tamper pair

    DO NOT JOIN RED & BLACK - 12v

    Keep everything as PAIRS, do not join them all together.

    You should then be able to set the alarm
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. NickB_99

    NickB_99

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Two uses in your post of red & black

    Please confirm -
    C Red
    NC Black
    V- Green
    V+ White

    Also uploaded Pic

    PIR is actually a DualTec (Honeywell DT7450UK2) - if it helps!

    Thanks!
     
  10. NickB_99

    NickB_99

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Prob solved. Got connectors/details off the web from the honeywell site. Once I'd got the lid off, could see the model etc.

    Alarm working again. :D

    Thanks for help Europlex & Denford 1.
     
  11. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,964
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh boy, I had a blonde moment there didn't I?

    Well spotted, sorry for the mistake, it's an age related problem :rolleyes:

    Glad you've got it sorted.
     
  12. NickB_99

    NickB_99

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL. No matter - get plenty of those myself! :D

    Cheers again.
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page