1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Temporary replacement of bell box

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by sparkwright, 5 Apr 2021.

  1. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, my very old A1/Omnicron 7000 alarm system needs a new bell box, as everything inside has deterioated badly beyond repair.

    As a temporary measure, I intend to fit a sound bomb sounder (twin, which I already have) inside the box

    So there will be no battery or tamper at the bell box now.

    The current wiring at the bell is
    - green
    + red
    ta black
    switch white

    The current at the alarm bell is
    bell + red
    bell - black
    scb rt white
    scb 0 black

    At the bell box position, can I simply connect
    sound bomb - green
    sound bomb + red
    black and white joined together in a connector block ??

    Or should the black and white be separate?
    Or something else?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,941
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Post photo of control panel wiring to show bell connections
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,912
    Thanks Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At the bell box position, can I simply connect
    sound bomb - green
    sound bomb + red
    black and white joined together in a connector block ??

    Yes ....
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would get it working for now?

    Good, thanks.
     
  6. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can anyone recommend a suitable replacement bell box which be compatible for my existing alarm system?
     
  7. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,912
    Thanks Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Texecom or pyronix ...would be my first choice...
     
  8. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Was considering the Pyronix Deltabell.

    However, connecting it up to existing set up looks very complicated...

    Seem to have a lot of terminals and very different markings...

    You alarm specialists certainly earn your money.
     
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,912
    Thanks Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All bellboxes in theory only have 5 connections
    1 12+
    2 0v
    3 bell trip ( normally 0v )
    4 tamper return ( normally 0v )
    5 strobe trip ( normally 0v ) .....
    Now ....some bellboxes require 12+ for strobe ( this can be linked in the bell box to the 12+)
    And some control panels ( old castle and some old A1 panels ) have 12+ tamper return ....
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right........

    Based on the old bell box, and what you have told me, should I connect my existing wiring (as described in my first post) to a new Pyronix Deltabell as below:-

    Panel Bell+_red wire_Deltabell 12v+
    Panel Bell-_black wire_Deltabell BELL
    Panel SCB0_green wire_Deltabell 12v-
    Panel SCBrt_white wire_Deltabell T
    and then a link wire between Deltabell remaining T and Deltabell 12v-

    ??

    OR,
    is it
    Panel Bell+_red wire_Deltabell 12v+
    Panel Bell-_black wire_Deltabell T
    Panel SCB0_green wire_Deltabell 12v-
    Panel SCBrt_white wire_Deltabell remaining T
    and then a link wire between Deltabell remaining T and Deltabell BELL

    ??

    Or something completely different?

    (I'm confused.)
     
  12. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,912
    Thanks Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You was correct first time ...
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you Sparkymarka.

    One more thing - when I get the Deltabell, are there likely to be any jumper switches or dip switches etc etc that I will have to mess around with?
     
  14. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,912
    Thanks Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just the bottom one ...battery int/ext ( on/ off )
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, is that something that will be clearly explained in the instructions, or can work out what that should be set to?
     
  16. T1GERIII

    T1GERIII

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    By default it’s off(ext), once wired up move it to on(int). Bottom jumper I think it’s JP9 on the board
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all.
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page