Testing for minor work....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, i'm installing a couple of PIR 500W floods for a friend. They're going to be independant of eachother and fed from the upstairs ring and conected to SW FCUs, protected by 3a (or maybe 5a) fuses respectively.

I'm a developing domestic installer and have recently gained my C&G 2381 and close to completing the EAL domestic installer qualifications.

Any minor work that i do i'd like to do to the book (and rightly so) and would like some help on the testing aspect so that i can give him a MWC to complete the job.

I've already been to the house and tested the existing ring to make sure it has no faults. All is ok.

When i complete the work tomorrow i want to be able to perform the neccessary tests to complete a MWC. So i need to clarify a couple of things:

1. IR test for the new circuit to be tested at the FCU (before connection)?

2. The protective device protecting the circuit (part 2) will be the 3a fuse in the FCU and not the 30A fuse protecting the ring circuit?

3. I take the EFLI readings at the connections in the flood light?

Sorry if my questions seem a little stupid but i'm still on a huge learning curve and want to be 100% certain of what i'm doing before i do the job.

Sponsored Links
You need to megger the circuit you are attaching the new wiring to, to prove it is sound. If you megger the end of the 2.5 feeding the spur (with the other end attached to the existing circuit) you are testing both existing & new wiring.

Nope. The protective device will be the fuse or breaker at the origin.

You take your EFL from the furthest point on the new wiring, so yes, from the light fitting.

Its always fun doing EFL tests up a ladder, under the eaves, wondering if the pigeons are from the Part P police :LOL:

Sponsored Links
securespark said:
Nope. The protective device will be the fuse or breaker at the origin.
quote]