1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Texecom Premier 48 wiring

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by EddyP, 8 Feb 2009.

  1. EddyP

    EddyP

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hopefully someone here will be able to guide me, as I haven't bought the alarm yet I don't have the installers manual, so i'm not sure about some of the cabling needs, and i'm trying to run all my cables now before my plasterer comes next week.

    I'm planning the following system:
    Premier 48 panel
    RKP downstairs, near this will be a PIR and mag door contact for the main entry door.
    RKP upstairs in the hall way, near this will be a PIR
    Smoke detectors - one in the lounge, one in the hall way.
    There then will be seperate areas on the alarm, including more RKPs, PIRs and smoke detectors.

    The main question I have is, what can share wiring, or does each item need its own cable back to the panel?
    I've already put 100m of 8 core into the house, wondering how much more i'm going to need.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You only need a 4 core to each detector.

    You can take a single 4 core from the panel and loop it round all the network devices such as keypads, zone expanders etc.

    If you are going to be adding more detectors etc, in the future, then it might be worth having a look at running a cable in now for a zone expander, and connecting all the additional detectors to there.

    If you add your email address to your profile, I can send you a copy of the installation manual to have a browse of.
     
  4. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ideally 1 cable / device.

    You can put up to 3 powered detection devices on an 8 core if they have shunt and end of line resistors.

    Problem can be if at a later dat 1 cable gets damaged, you have just lost 3 detecors, but if you had 1 cable / device you would only lose one device.

    also the cost of the cable............its so cheap i would suggest 1 cable / device
     
  5. EddyP

    EddyP

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info guys. I'll get some more cable then and put one to each device.

    RF - I've added my email address, thanks the manual will be very useful.

    Wheres the best place to buy texecom bits from? I've seen numerous different prices.

    Thanks
     
  6. DIYerHELP

    DIYerHELP

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. rebuke

    rebuke

    Joined:
    4 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm quite prepared to be wrong, not being an alarm installer etc, but my understanding was that to do it properly for a powered detector you needed 6 core - 2 for the zone contact itself, 2 for power (+V and ground), and 2 for the tamper circuit.

    Only way I could see using less would be if you did a loop and came back to the panel, so sent the tamper through the loop saving a wire, but that would still need 5 surely?
     
  9. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The premier uses resistors at the detector.

    Using a single pair it can signal to the panel open circuit (tamper), short circuit (tamper), alarm, normal, and cover tamper.

    You also need 1 pair for power.

    I'd also recommend brewtime and security warehouse. I've used alert electrical in the past too.
     
  10. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    with resistors



    without resistors


    rebuke, more info in the sticky

    edited to add pictures;

    But also as Europlex said, it depends on the installers choice
     
  11. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,964
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think RF Lighting meant Double Pole or End Of Line Zones, or in other words - The Premier can also use resistors at the detector.

    Installers choice on which way to go.
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page