1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Texecom Premier Alarm Faulty Door Sensor

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by jtmk, 22 Apr 2020.

  1. jtmk

    jtmk

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, I am hoping for some help with a family member's alarm system that was installed at the same time the house was built. It is a Texecom Premier alarm and the main door sensor seems to be faulty. I have armed the sytem with the door shut and the exit beep is still intermittent rather than one continuous tone.

    I tried gently tapping the sensor on the frame with a screwdriver but this still did not rectify the contact sensor. Can I buy any wired door sensor to replace what is there? Do I need to put the alarm in maintenance mode before I swap the sensor?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,873
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it a surface mounted contact or a flush fitted contact
     
  4. jtmk

    jtmk

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply @Handymanjo - the door sensor is surface mounted.
     
  5. jtmk

    jtmk

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,873
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on how it is wired,but could possible resolve with photo of wiring unless cable has been damaged.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,360
    Thanks Received:
    672
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CQR SC570 I believe from image I have just seen, but don't know which one as not seen the inside.
     
  8. jtmk

    jtmk

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here's an image of the door sensor:

    Screenshot_20200422-231249_Photos.jpg
     
  9. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,873
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Need to see wiring inside contact.
    This could cause a tamper alarm when cover removed off contact. Code number should stop alarm.Tamper alarm may require engineer reset.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,873
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the door has been heavily banged then the reed could be fractured. Have had problems with CQR contacts with the reed not soldered correctly and the reed comes away from the contact terminals and then needs to be 're soldered back to sort.
     
  12. jtmk

    jtmk

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there a maintenance mode for this alarm so that I can remove the cover without setting it off?
     
  13. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,873
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No
    Unless you know the engineer code.
    Tamper alarm will sound internal sounder only if the alarm is not set.
     
  14. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,360
    Thanks Received:
    672
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are things we can do when you are on site.

    all depends on how it was is setup up as to how it behaves.
     
  15. jtmk

    jtmk

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your advice
     
  16. jtmk

    jtmk

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It turned out to be a SC570/WH/MULTI that the fantastic people at CQR sourced for me. I can't recommend them highly enough!

    Also big thanks to @secureiam who talked me through the process of replacing the door sensor.
     
  17. Payner1987

    Payner1987

    Joined:
    11 Apr 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All, receiving the same issue with door sensor randomly setting off the internal sounder all hours of the day. Will this set the main alarm bell off? And if In engineer mode will it stop the system thinking that someone is tampering with the door sensor?
     
Loading...

Share This Page