1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Texecom Premier faulty PIR?

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by M4TVW, 12 Dec 2016.

  1. M4TVW

    M4TVW

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bit of a coincidence that the alarm in my industrial unit it now playing up!

    It's a texecom premier that was installed before we moved in years ago. The system seems fine but it keeps going off saying the PIR in the kitchen triggered the alarm. The PIR looks really old (see picture) so i think it might be worth replacing it anyway. However i have not seen this type of PIR before, is it special or just old? It looks like it has two cables going to it from what i can see coming out of the wall.

    So the questions are, What PIR do i need to replace this one?
    I don't have the engineer code for this alarm and the installer won't give it to me. Can i reset this or shall i just put it in master code when it goes off like i did last time when i had to move a couple of PIR's?

    Cheers
    Mat
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,870
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a 772D should be in a museum at least 20+years old.
    You can replace that with any pir.
    You say there are 2 wires going in to that detector so you may need to join cables out ?
    That a photo of the wiring before you disconnect so you can ref if problem.
    If you have already moved some detectors then the user code should be ok it silence and reset.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. Alarm Engineer

    Alarm Engineer

    Joined:
    24 May 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is a Racal Gardall PIR from the late 1980's you can swap for a standard Quad PIR but if its a Kitchen then a Dual technology type may be better.

    Two cables would suggest theres a incoming feed and then it branches off to another sensor so make sure you take note of the wiring.

    Remove sensor > silence tamper alarm with code > fit new sensor > reset & test.
     
  5. M4TVW

    M4TVW

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent, thanks guys. Lets hope that stops it going off randomly!
     
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  7. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page