1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Thermal Store Heating System

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by crazyk69, 4 Feb 2010.

  1. crazyk69

    crazyk69

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    Can you fit a Room stat to a thermal store heating system and if so what do you connect the wiring to.
    Its a tower rs stat,
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. twgas

    twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,900
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes and it very much depends on the store make/model.
     
  4. crazyk69

    crazyk69

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. gas4you

    gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    21,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thermostat needs to be wired to control the secondary pump (ch pump)
     
  6. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,020
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you may be rather missing the point !

    A room stat can control taking heat OUT of a store to use it to heat rads etc. ( By controlling the pump! ).

    But a fully charged ( hot ) thermal store only contains enough heat for about one hours heating in a typical senario.

    Heat stores are primarily used to provide hot water at a greater flow rate than the heat source ( boiler ) could provide.

    Tony
     
  7. twgas

    twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,900
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I can say is the r/stat needs to interupt the supply to the heating pump, can't actually tell from pic.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. crazyk69

    crazyk69

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    thanks for the replies, if i connect the stat to the CH pump, it should control the heating due to the pump not pumping if temp reached. surely the cyl stat keeps the store at required temp. probably wrong but hey like to hazard a guess lol
     
  10. twgas

    twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,900
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you actually going to buy this place?
     
  11. crazyk69

    crazyk69

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Mick
    Possibly, whys that lol
     
  12. mikely

    mikely

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2005
    Messages:
    305
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's correct. I have the same system. CH pump controlled by room stat. Thermal store controlled by cyl stat.
     
  13. crazyk69

    crazyk69

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    Have looked at the system, now the fun starts.

    We have two electrical boxes, one upstairs in cupboard next to the cylinder, CH Pump + HW pump, the other downstairs in the garage next to the boiler. The programmer is in the utility room. The upstairs electrical box is
    1 CPC's
    2 Blk to HW Pump + Yellow to the Line on the Boiler Pump (via downstairs elec box)
    3 Blue to Cyl Stat (sleeved red) + red to Switched Line on Boiler (via downstairs elec box)
    4 Blue to CH Pump, Blue to N Boiler feed (via downstairs elec box), + Blue to HW Pump
    5 Red to Terminal 3 on Programmer (HW)
    6 nothing
    7Blk to CH Pump + Blk (sleeved red) to Term 4 on Programmer (CH)

    Downstairs Elec Box is
    1 CPC
    2 Switched Line from boiler connecting to Frost Stat, + Red up to Term 3 upstairs
    3 Line Boiler Pump - Red to Line on Programmer, Yellow to Term 2 upstairs
    4 Neutral Boiler Feed - 2 x Blues to HW + Ch Pumps upstairs, Blue to Frost Stat
    5 Line Boiler Feed = Black to Term 5 upstairs + Red to Frost Stat

    How do I go about connecting the Room stat to the system, the Stat is downstairs but it would be difficult to get the wiring upstairs.
    Can anyone help my head is full of soft cuddly toys that are broken :)
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page