Thermostat wiring buried - Fixing/ updating Combi-boiler wiring to controller - C11 & Nest

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

Total novice here looking for advice or guidance on fixing and upgrading my home heating solution.

I've recently moved into a new apartment. It was rennovated before I moved in, and multiple walls were demolished & erected along with a total rewire. There was an existing Worcester Greenstar junior 28i combi-boiler which was rigged up to the new wiring. There is no water tank.
The controller that's been installed is a Horstmann Centaurplus c11 controller, and I'm not sure but i believe it existed prior to the rewire.

My main issue is that the hot water works but the heating to the radiators does not. I believe the source of the issue is that the old thermostat was removed and then the wiring was plastered over. I don't believe the wiring on the boiler was updated to relfect that the fact that the thermostat will never trigger the boiler "on".
From the research I have done the appropriate solution would have been to jump the Live Return and Live Stat wiring ports on the boiler itself, so that it was essentially always on.

Anyway, to the solution I'm looking at.

I am considering installing a Nest Thermostat, and removing the existing C11. The wiring on the inside of the C11 controller currently looks like this -

It's diagram looks like this-
2019-11-23-13-52-15.png

The cabling closer to the wall connects to a fused on-off switch. The cabling, connected to N, L, 2 & 4) runs to another junction box. That junction box seems to be a bit of a mess. It seems like it's still connected up to the old wiring. It is behind a switch. The boiler works even if the switch is off. Here's a few pictures of this second junction (below). The wiring from the c11 controller comes in from above.
226023251_145214907744740_189507259939438263_n.jpg

232768662_164647829094493_213804524077639431_n.jpg