Things that identify an internal wall as load-bearing

R

richard7761

If a breeze block internal wall sits on floorboards, is that a sign that it is non load-bearing?

Sponsored Links
No, it could be a sign that the builder was clueless

Look what's on top of it not under it

Not necessarily clueless, woody. When I was a carpenter & joiner employed in cottage bumping (spec housing) in the 50's it was normal to have the entire first floor walls (with the exemption of the spine wall) built with 3" breeze blocks on the floor boards.

Can you tell from this picture whether the wall is load-bearing or not? If load-bearing or not - why?

Sponsored Links
No-one replying! :D

Okay, this is not a load-bearing wall, because it's clear it's been built up from the bottom to the ceiling above. And plasterboard is resting on it.
That's my 2 cents.

Okay, this is not a load-bearing wall, because it's clear it's been built up from the bottom to the ceiling above. And plasterboard is resting on it.
That's my 2 cents.

Have you actually looked in whatever is above to see if there is anything resting on the wall?

That's my 2 cents.

Have you actually looked in whatever is above to see if there is anything resting on the wall?

What we have is a situation like this:

http://www.ashireporter.org/photos/thumbnails/2010_04/Word-10-purlin.jpg

Where the purlin brace meets the joist needs to be supported.

Now, in my house, two door frames sit under the point where purlin brace meets joint. And these two door frames sit on 2 ceiling joists.

Now my internal wall is in line with the joist, but it's not taking the load, the door frames are. I feel sure.

I'm asked to look at the top of the wall, and is there anything resting on the wall.

Well, the wall is in line with a joist.

This is the way I see things:

In your typical house, with down and unstairs rooms, above the upstairs room ceilings will be joists, rather smaller than the joists above the dowstairs room ceilings.