Timber size

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Guys,

My building reg drawings from the designer show the external walls using timbers 47 X 100.

The building control notes received from the inspector say 47 X 147.

The drawings have been approved.

Which should be used ?

This is for 1st floor timber frame extension over existing garage.

I've asked the designer but concerned they don't match.

Thanks

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Well 100mm celetex wont fit between 100 x 47 studs -mostly they are 95mm

Its 11mm osb, not 10mm -anyway, seems thin for sheathing, it is an important structural element.

Im not sure 100 or 147. The bigger section is certainly stiffer.

I would prefer to see a service void on the inside, which the bigger section provides. But then 25mm insulation doesnt work well.

Thanks. Unfortunately I have limited knowledge so don't completely get all of your post.

On the notes it also says supalux should be used when within 1m of the boundary. This wall is the flank wall and is right on the boundary.

Confused.

What are the building control notes you refer to, are these a schedule of conditions attached to the approval notice ?
What does the designer say regarding the discrepancy on stud sizes ?
Are building control saying it is approved subject to studs being increased to 147mm ?
Comments re wall construction within 1m of the boundary relate to the risk of fire spreading across the boundary to neighbouring property, but you need to ask your designer to liaise with building control and sort it out so you know exactly what has been approved. The designer may need to incorporate any amendments requested by BC on the drawings.

Sponsored Links
I would start by ringjng the building inspector and ask why

I would start by ringjng the building inspector and ask why

Thanks I will this morning.