Total beginner needs inspiration and advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I am a complete beginner to all this but at the 'ripe' age of 49 I have decided that I will create my first vegetable garden. Tomorrow I am collecting a greenhouse (8x6) which I found at a giveaway price and this will mark the start of my plot. I intend to make raised beds for nearly all my vegetables. I have taken this week off work to get things going so the greenhouse will be up and running on Tuesday.

What I need to know is, what do I need to do regarding soil preparation and what should I be growing first in the greenhouse. A planting calender would be very helpful.

So any encouragement, inspiration and good luck vibes you can offer will be muc appreciated.

Mel :cool:

Sponsored Links
The best thing to do before any soil preperation is to plan. Various vegetables benefit from different types of soil preperation. Pop to the library or a bookshop and get yourself a book, or have a trawl through the websites. Work out what you actually want from the plot. What would you like to grow and eat and in what quantities. That way you plan a rotation for the beds and what sort of soil conditions and when it needs doing. At this time of year you will be starting to look towards your winter crops or short term summer crops eg raddishes etc. some vegetables like a heavy soil, some a heavily manured rich soil etc etc, so do a bit of reasearch and youll avoid unecessary work.

Welcome to the world of gardening, enjoy it! :LOL:

WOW a reply already, thanks Thermo.

A neighbour has loaned me a book called Vegetable & Herb Expert. There certainly seems to be a lot to think about. Should I concentrate on starting something off in the greenhouse first while I build and plan out the raised beds?

Mel