Total novice - changing a two way light switch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom

Hi everyone,

Sorry in advance - total novice!! So diagrams would be much appreciated!

I'm changing a light switch which currently operates an outdoor light and a hallway light (neither of which are controlled anywhere else).

I purchased a 2-gang 2-way new switch and hopefully this is correct?!

Anyway, when the old one has been removed, the wiring is totally different. Could someone please advise what goes where to avoid blowing myself up the wall with a trial and error method?

Any advice is much appreciated!!

Sponsored Links
A fairly easy one this for you.

The wires go into similar places.

The red wire at the top and the loop go into L.

The bottom wires go into L1 respectively. (if the switch works upside down, they go into L2)

The earth wire should also be connected up to that terminal on the front plate with a new bit of wire

A fairly easy one this for you.

The wires go into similar places.

The red wire at the top and the loop go into L.

The bottom wires go into L1 respectively. (if the switch works upside down, they go into L2)

The earth wire should also be connected up to that terminal on the front plate with a new bit of wire

Do I need to use a new piece of wire? Can I not just disconnect the green from the back box and connect it to the new plate?

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:
1st step and most important step, is turn off the power at the main fuse box/ consumer unit.
The switch will be live even if the lights are off.
Then move the red wires that're looped, from the old switch to the same places at the top of the new switch.
Then move the bottom left red to the bottom left terminal, and the bottom right yellow to the third from left bottom on the new one.