Traditional TRV Service Kit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I have been restoring an old house for ten years, just finished and Im now having problems with my Rad TRV's. They are the traditional style exaclty as per link https://www.victorianplumbing.co.uk...-radiator-valve-far-ag-bl?campaign=googlebase, although about £40 when I bought them not £99!! I have two at the TRV end that are weeping at the Pin seal. The Pin being the bit that is pushed up and down as you adjust or it self adjusts itself.

I dont have a spare to pull apart and cant possibly buy new valves to replace what is probably an O-Ring or rubber seal. Can I buy new Pins and seals for these?

See photo attached.

Thanks

Attachments

• TRV.jpg
    TRV.jpg
    167.9 KB · Views: 92
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Try giving the gland nut a little tighten, and dont buy anything from Victoria plumb, they are absolutely dire

• Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Ah the gland, I couldnt remember the name. If you look in my previous pic the gland looks like its already shouldered out on the main body of the TRV. I dont think I can tighten it but will try gently.

When I removed the TRV head the pin was stuck in the closed position. I pulled it up gently with pliers and it jumps to opened. It doesnt move smoothly between open and shut. Could be corroded inside. I was hoping I could strip it and clean it or get a new gland. I know you can get Danfoss replacements etc but not sure if I can get for these. Surely you cant expect someone these days to replace an entinre TRV at £100 because the gland has failed.

If my heating is off and cold can I remove the gland or will fluid **** everywhere?

Surely I dont have to drain the system? I just put £100 of liquid gold Fernox Alphi 11 in the system two weeks ago fitting the last Rad!

Thanks