Training as a joiner

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone give me some advice on re-training as a joiner? Its always something Ive been keen on and am always doing my own work at home. I currently work in the oil industry but I think its time to change trades to something more reliable and something I actually enjoy. Any help/advice would be appreciated. I live in Aberdeenshire if that helps!

Sponsored Links
do you mean a site carpenter?

and if so, what sort of work do you want? -roofing, 1st fix, 2nd fix, interiors, cabinetry, kitchen fitting?
domestic or new build or industrial?

your region is fairly remote, you might need to see where the demand is.

Not sure really. Interiors would be ideal, maybe 1st or 2nd fix. Maybe not new build stuff as not keen on new builds

Not sure really. Interiors would be ideal, maybe 1st or 2nd fix. Maybe not new build stuff as not keen on new builds

I know carpenters who make a good career out of interiors. They tend to do fitted wardrobes, kitchen fitting, a bit of door hanging etc.

these days with festool track saws and extraction, it is possible to build lots of stuff on site, clean and accurate carcassing.

it would be worth your while doing some research to see how many people are offering that sort of work in your area -have alook at any websites of facebook pages to get an idea.

your big decision, of course is how to finance your career change -while you retrain and take a hit on apprentice or labourers wages.
there is a lot that can be learnt online and in books -its worth starting there to get some knowledge whilst we are stuck in this lock down

Sponsored Links