1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

trussed roof loft conversion with telebeam or ecotrus

Discussion in 'Building' started by alex889, 2 Aug 2020.

  1. alex889

    alex889

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I'm looking for a loft conversion (my house has a trussed roof) and I found out about Telebeam and Ecotrus recently as a way to not need a heavy steel beam installation and cranes involved. I haven't seen that much information out there on the internet and I was hoping someone here would have experience and perhaps use these systems to confirm it is a viable way to convert a loft quickly and without spending a lot.



    What do you guys think about these systems?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. jacko555

    jacko555

    Joined:
    5 Feb 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never heard of them, but, ecotrus reckon they can fit a 70m3 hip to gable for 30k, in a day.

    The project managed version includes

    That seems really cost effective.

    I'm commenting as I'd like to hear other's input, and, yours if you go with them.

    Sorry I didnt add much value to the thread.
     
  4. alex889

    alex889

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is fine, we are all finding out about these different methods to build cheaper and quicker, so I'm happy to share everything I find about it :)

    So far I'm waiting for them to arrange a site visit and check my property, to them give me a more precise cost for the conversion
     
  5. DursleyDavid

    DursleyDavid

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi @alex889 . I am also starting to look into converting my loft. Did you get any joy with Ecotrus, or are you still waiting on the site visit?
     
  6. alex889

    alex889

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My house is too long, 9.5m so they can't provide long enough beams to cope with the load.

    I'm going to back to traditional steel beams in the end to support the joists
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. DursleyDavid

    DursleyDavid

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's bad news. My house is also 9.5m wide (internal dimension). I knew Telebeam can't span that, but then I found Ecotrus. Was hoping they might be OK. The other option my builder recommended was room-in-the-roof trusses, where they would replace the existing trusses entirely with new ones designed to have a room inside. That requires having the roof off for a while! I think I might end up with steels too, but with a 10.5m length, they're going to need to be pretty hefty beams, I would guess.
     
  8. alex889

    alex889

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can give you more details once my planning permission gets approved, I've just applied so that most likely hapen in jan/feb next year
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page