Loft conversion

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Have a question in regards to a loft conversion with a truss roof.

Instead of steels being installed length ways between gable ends, then joists between them and supporting the roof (I think this is the normal way?)

Why can’t timber joists just span the 2 outside walls and the roof be supported off them? Is the weight still not being supported by load bearing walls?

I’m just curious about this, I have no knowledge of it and will be getting an SE

Sponsored Links
Because they will stick out the roof

As in the depth of the joist is bigger than the gap between inner leaf and roof tile .... wouldn’t that depend on the roof pitch ? Or am I missing the point

I had one loft guy round and suggested steels running width ways as length ways will impede stair location

A structural engineer will tell you what to do.
You will need their calculations in any case, so no point speculating.

Sponsored Links
A structural engineer will tell you what to do.
You will need their calculations in any case, so no point speculating.
Johnny with all due respect, I’m a tradesman and take interest in knowing what needs to happen and gaining knowledge in areas of the building game I don’t know about.

Everyone here knows I need a SE and building control involved, so I’m not about to start getting in my loft and working on a whim.

Not sure why people bother to comment telling others not to worry because you need a structural engineer. I like to know so i can make my own judgement as to whether that professional I employ is knowledgeable

Johnny with all due respect, I’m a tradesman and take interest in knowing what needs to happen and gaining knowledge in areas of the building game I don’t know about.

Everyone here knows I need a SE and building control involved, so I’m not about to start getting in my loft and working on a whim.