Trying to get rid of unwanted saw

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello folks.
I'm a carpenter from dorset, I bought a Macallister (B&Q) 10" Sliding compound Mitre saw yesterday because I needed a deep cut for the cornice I was cutting.

My regular saw is a Dewalt, and I only needed the Macallister for this one job, so I need to sell it on as soon as possible.

It cost £120 yesterday, I made a dozen cuts, it's still in the box with all the stickers on it and everything with a full warranty. £75 for a quick sale.

Cheers

Lee :D

Sponsored Links
Why didn't you just hire one?

Try here

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Try taking it back to B&Q for a refund, make up some reason for returning it.

JAson

Sponsored Links
Hi There,
I'm a California living in the Czech Republic and need an affordable, but decent mitre saw. The main DIY store here has that same MacAllister saw for a pretty good price. Is it OK for basic work (i'm a hobbyist woodworker)...meaning can i trust it?
Thanks,
Sean

Hey.

Can't vouch for the macAlsiter saw, but I've got a couple of other tools by MacAlister and, IMO as a hobby joiner type, they punch higher than their price range.

If your looking for a budget compound mitre chop saw, for work where +/- a degree is ok, then I'd say it's worth the money.

Get a new, fine tooth blade tho for anything other than cutting firewood. The coarse blade these saws come with are brutal!

if they wont take it back, you could take it for a lovely drive in the country then let it off its lead and when its not looking drive away! problem solved!

Great. Thanks for the tip. i've read about the blade elsewhere too. I'll make sure and get a finer one. Thanks again! S

muzzles, sorry to hear about the problems with your saw, please return it with your receipt to our nearest store where we will offer you a refund or exchange in line with our returns policy,

yours sincerely

B&Q