TV on Lighting Ring Main?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Some posts containing incorrect information have been removed from this thread.
Just about to move house and the main bedroom has nowhere to mount a TV wall bracket so I'm looking at ceiling mounts. Only trouble with this is the power supply would be off the lighting circuit. The TV is a 32" Sony Bravia that uses 55w when it's on. I'd need to get an electrician to do it but need to know if it's feasible. Obviously the 13amp plug would be changed to 5amp and possibly an RCD fitted. As I have little knowledge of electrics is this possible please?

Sponsored Links
The bit we look at is "Every installation shall be divided into circuits, as necessary, to:
(i) avoid hazards and minimize inconvenience in the event of a fault
(ii) facilitate safe inspection, testing and maintenance (see also Section 537)
(iii) take account of danger that may arise from the failure of a single circuit such as a lighting circuit
(iv) reduce the possibility of unwanted tripping of RCDs due to excessive protective conductor currents produced
by equipment in normal operation
(v) mitigate the effects of electromagnetic interferences (EMI)
(vi) prevent the indirect energizing of a circuit intended to be isolated.
It does not say power should not be taken for a supply used for lighting, and the electrician has to make a judgement as to if in your case he can use the lighting supply. Lighting is permitted less volt drop to power, but 55 watt is only the same as a bulb, so using a 2 amp or 5 amp three pin socket is likely an option.

As to
Lights are not on ring mains, they are radials.