Unable to bleed - will it work ok if sealed?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hope someone can help me here?

My room has 2 double radiators, one of the rads has a bleed nipple that has rounded off, and try as I might it will not come out (I've tried drilling it out but it's on the verge of damaging the thread now). The nipple is directly in the radiator, not as I've read elsewhere in a section that can be removed.

The double radiator has 2 bleed valves in it, they face inwards (which is why it was difficult to repair).

I cannot afford to replace the double radiator, what I would like to do is seal where the nipple was and not have a bleed valve there anymore. My room is 'over-radiated' anyway, and not being a DIY expert my thinking is that sealing off one nipple will at worst just mean that the front (or one half) of the double radiator will not fill with water fully (or at all?).

Will this be OK to do? Is the scenario I have described above correct? I am happy to have just one half of the rad working, I just want to make sure that I won't damage any more of the central heating system.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help.

Mark, London, UK.

Sponsored Links
Mark
I would not leave air in the system as this will effect the circulation and carry air to other areas of your system.
As I am sure you know air water and steel means rust!!
Best trying to get that bleed screw out even if it means damaging the thread you can use some ptfe to hopefully seal it again.
Or just lock it down (close each valve) and do not use it.
Radiators are not to expensive and you may even pick one up on e bay cheap maybe even a single panel.
Good luck
Pete

I was thinking of replacing it with a single one (half the price), but Im no plumber and it would mean moving the pipes because they currently come out from the floor too far away from thw wall just to replace it with a single.