Under unit power connection to dishwasher - Safe?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've got a spare under worktop unit in my kitchen into which I'd like to install a slimline dishwasher. It's in a unit next to the sink, so handy for waste drainage, and it already has a power socket.

I'm just curious about the power socket and the routing of water/waste pipes. I originally intended to run the waste pipe horizontally into the unit and have the waste stack pipe in the same unit as the socket for ease of install. However, now I'm thinking that the waste stack pipe will be too close to the power socket (in case it clogged and overflowed).

Would it a better plan to cut another hole at the top of the unit and install the waste stack into the same unit as the sink - thereby reducing the risk of power and water meeting?

Also, all the power sockets in my kitchen are just normal power sockets, not fused or anything. Well, so I think, I'm a total newb to electrical stuff. The kitchen is pretty old and 'tarted up' by the previous owners so the plumbing, gas and elec are pretty old. (I'm saving up to gut and re-do the whole lot in a year or two).

Is it unsafe to use this socket for a dishwasher? If there was a leak would the main circuit breakers under the stairs trip or would I be running the risk of electrocution?

Should I be getting an electrician in to fit a fused switch or something into the line (or whatever the correct name is) that this socket is on?

Many thanks in advance for the help!

3547748447_a59ff80725_o.jpg

Sponsored Links
Your socket should be ok,if you change it to a fused spur you'll have to cut the plug off then your warrenty out the window
Get a self cutting waste and tap into the kitchen waste,put a jubilee clip on the waste hose so it doesn't come off,so no more floods

The dishwasher should be easily isolatable, this means there should be a switch above the worktop controlling this socket.