1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Upgrading Prem Elite

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by ek5932, 14 Sep 2020.

  1. ek5932

    ek5932

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey All,

    I've recently moved into a new house which had a Texecom Prem Elite 24 installed and I have been trying to expand it but have not had any luck. I bought myself a door-contact & panic button and have been attempting to attach them wireless to my system but I think I made a mistake assuming that my existing PIRs were wireless which now I'm questioning. I don't think the model I have includes the Ricochet networking technology so I'm not sure if it's possible to learn the new devices to my system? I have two available zones but looking at the PCB, the other 6 are all wired.

    Is there a solution to extend my system with Ricochet support, or is there something I can do so that I haven't just wasted my money on the extra kit?

    Any help appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Paul
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. T1GERIII

    T1GERIII

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it just premier elite 24 and not 24-W then unfortunately they can’t be learnt onto the system
     
  4. ek5932

    ek5932

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been looking on the net and have seen there's a wireless expander - can I not purchase this to be able to connect the devices?
     
  5. T1GERIII

    T1GERIII

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes by all means a wireless expander would work with a premier elite panel, obviously an additional cost though.
     
  6. ek5932

    ek5932

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great, thanks for the info!
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,935
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some of the Ricochet expander are old versions and do not support devices like smart plug.
    Be cautious when buying devices of internet when cheap.
     
  9. ek5932

    ek5932

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,935
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are using wholesalers then that is fine,ebay is the issue.
     
  11. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,445
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ebay caution:- versions being sold as new often several years old, out of warranty and not capable of of some functions.

    That said I pulled a distributor for selling gear over 1 year old this afternoon, got it swapped out whilst I was there.......poor stock rotation guess they may blame COVID....... but 12 months isnt quite how long covid has been causing major havoc
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page