Used oil-based paint on an internal wall instead of emulsion

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, a DIY novice here - as you will soon realize

Due to circumstances that do not reflect well on me (inexperience, incompetence, general lack of concentration) I have painted the section of our bedroom above the picture rail not with simple emulsion but with oil-based satin internal and external wood and metal paint.

Yes. Yes, I know.

It was this one, to be precise: http://www.diy.com/departments/colo...-exterior-white-satin-paint-25l/578200_BQ.prd

I've applied it to lining paper over plaster, it's an internal wall (brick) of a 1939 house.

I went back to B&Q and the helpful assistant recommended that because the paint wasn't breathable, I should strip the lining paper off and re-paper before painting with emulsion. She told me the paint I'd put on would quickly discolour, and might cause damp (by retaining moisture, I presume).

Of course I was hoping that I could simply paint a coat of matt emulsion over the top.

To be honest, it doesn't look *that* bad right now with the wrong paint on, and I don't really want to do major work like re-papering to resolve the problem.

So, bearing all this in mind, my questions are:

Will the wood/metal paint cause problems? Will it discolour? Will the wallpaper start to peel? Will it result in damp that damages the plaster or brickwork?

Can I simply paint over with matt emulsion? Even if I have to use some kind of primer?

Oh yeah, almost forgot - is the oil-based paint likely to be hazardous to our health? It's 'only' on a relatively small area, i.e. the top 16" or so of the wall in a small-to-medium-size room.

Many thanks in advance for anyone who can help. I promise to read the label more closely in future.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links