Vaillant Installation Pump Over Run

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Apologies firstly. I'm a complete newbie and don't understand much about my central heating system. I've looked through the forums but have come to the conclusion that there could be a multiple of reason why my downstairs rads are not coming on (but the upstairs are).

I had a new ecoTec Plus 630 and uniStor hot water storage cylinder put into my house. A lot of the piping was replaced. The ecotec is downstairs in the kitchen and controlled with a honeywell unit. I also have a honeywell thermostat downstairs. The unistor is in the loft with an extra expansion vessel. I was told that this is an unvented system. This was all done October 2009. All radiators were replaced so don't think I could have sludge in them and definitely not in all of them. engineer said that a little top up 3 to 4 times a year is ok and have checked with him and installer outside for any visible leaks. Water pressure coming into house is naturally low. But everything was working before.

Since then I've had the following:

1. Dropping of pressure, the gauge on the ecoTEC was dropped below the gray part and I'd have to top it up using the valves in the loft with the Unistor. This happened about 4 times in the first 7 months.

2. Called in Vaillant to check system and the engineer said there was no permanent live to the boiler from the honeywell and they would not support the boiler as the display was not permanently on.

3. Called the installer who said nothing wrong with the wiring and could not understand what vaillant meant. Unfortunately, the vaillant guy did not leave me with much of a detailed explanation. I then called in an electrician to redo the wiring so that there was a permanent live in July 2010.