Vaillant or Glow worm - Combi boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi we are getting our entire central heating replaced, currently on a one pipe system with hot water cylinder, immersion heater, cold water tank in the loft and the boiler is from the seventies and pretty much inaccessible in the corner of the kitchen.

We are looking to replace it with a combi (gives us more space in the bathroom) the plumber has quoted us for a Vaillant Ecotec 831, we are on a tightish budget (whole house needs doing and hopefully an extension) and he has mentioned that he could instead supply a Glow Worm Ultracom2 CXi for £350 less. Although this is a good saving I don't want to make a decision purely based on cost and was wondering how they compare on performance and reliability? Although I have heard of both I have no experience of either any advice would be greatly appreciated.

We are also hoping to reduce costs by stripping out the existing radiators and pipes ourselves, would this be worth it, would it save much money? I know it's a difficult one to answer but I'm just after a rough idea. The house is three bedrooms and some of the radiators are also being moved from current locations, living room moving from an inside wall to under a bay window, landing radiator removed and not replaced and 2nd bedroom moving from an inside wall to an outside wall. The quote we have been given is for £5,054 and includes stripping out the existing system.

Thanks for your help

Sponsored Links
Vaillant group make Gloworm, they own them along with Heatline, Protherm, and a few other cheaper brands.

If you get your Vaillant fitted in the next month you might get a 10yr warranty, and the 831 is now an 832. Yes, it is '1' better.