Vaillant thermocompact 142e won't ignite?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by markymark1234567, 8 Aug 2010.

  1. markymark1234567

    markymark1234567

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a vaillant thermocompact 142e and I can't get it to ignite.
    Pump and fan is running and the air pressure switch makes an audible click.
    There is just no spark at the burner.
    I have replaced all 4 pcb's and still no joy.
    There is no power getting to the ignition transformer.
    Any ideas people???
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,039
    Thanks Received:
    4,595
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your posting history indicates you have an aweful lot of boilers!

    That make me think that in reality you are fixing boilers for people when you are not qualified or registered!

    We dont give gas advice to anyone on this forum except for qualified people in the CC section.
     
  4. Andygasman2010

    Andygasman2010

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    2,182
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you're trade just apply for the CC where technical advice is shared
     
  5. markymark1234567

    markymark1234567

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks andy gas man and agile i am probably more qualified than you matey.
     
  6. kevplumb

    kevplumb

    Joined:
    18 May 2004
    Messages:
    23,712
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    depends where i get sent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    which is of course why you are posting questions on a diy forum :rolleyes:
     
  7. HootingOwl

    HootingOwl

    Joined:
    19 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    4,262
    Thanks Received:
    1,348
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't be rude to Tony and Andy.

    I am pleased that you are proud of your no doubt prodigious qualifications. So qualified, in fact, that you have replaced no less than four PCBs, and have still not fixed the problem. Ouch.

    I hope it really is your boiler, and that you are not charging someone for your lack of knowledge in this particular subject. Or perhaps you work for British Gas and it is 'parts no object'?

    Just because the switch goes 'click' doesn't mean it is working. Get a copy of the MIs and work out where the sequence is breaking down.

    But first, put back all the original PCBs as you may have introduced a new fault in the process of trying to solve the original problem.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. markymark1234567

    markymark1234567

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hooting howl I do not work for bg. I work for a local housing association .
    I do have the MI and it states in the FF to change the ignition pcb if that does not work change the other pcb and so on and so on. Hence why i have changed the 4 pcb's. The MI are not really good.
     
  10. HootingOwl

    HootingOwl

    Joined:
    19 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    4,262
    Thanks Received:
    1,348
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nip over to the CC and ask the question there - we can be more helpful about what to try next.

    did you check the APS for continuity?
     
  11. Bunnyman

    Bunnyman

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5,497
    Thanks Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check c if the vantage connector lead which if not being used is usually tucked behind the pump the auto vent leaks water down the back an shorts the plug out... C if it's wet
     
  12. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,039
    Thanks Received:
    4,595
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are indeed gas registered then why do you post as if you are a householder and say "I have a Vaillant".

    The obvious place to ask trade questions is in the CC. There we can be helpful to those who are less able and particularly it does not show gas engineers in a poor light to the general public. I find that acutely embarassing.

    My experience of people working for housing associations and particularly their contractors is that they are usually not as competent at repairs as BG engineers who get paid considerably more.

    Tony
     
  13. Bunnyman

    Bunnyman

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5,497
    Thanks Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A very rare occurrence agile but I agree c u in Cc
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page