vaillant turbo max 242e - No hot water

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by biggiebig, 7 Jul 2007.

  1. biggiebig

    biggiebig

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All I have a vaillant turbo max 242 \282
    but there's not hot water.

    When I switch turn on the tap it lites up but then the ignition light flashes with no hot water.

    I was told that it's been leaking slighly and the water pressure is at 0.

    Had the same problem about a year ago and the plumber changed a small rubber piece(may be a diaphram washer) and charged me £150.

    I've heard the diverter valve is a common problem could it be that ?, or is it this washer again.

    BG want £200 to fix any boiler is it worth it, don't want to pay that if it's only a minor problem.

    BTW i'm in London.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. gas4you

    gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    21,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    before you get anyone in to fix it re-pressurise the boiler/system to 1.2 bar cold then see if it works. A diaphragm should last around 3 years.
     
  4. biggiebig

    biggiebig

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks stupid question but how do I do that ?, persume I will need a hose pipe.


    i'm reasonabily DIY competent just not when it comes to boiler.

    Also the tenents said there was water below the boiler so I persume that may have something to do with it..(Do I not need to get that sorted.)
     
  5. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need to use the filling loop, try a search for them
     
  6. timmy74

    timmy74

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    340
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    look at the pipework nr the boiler there should be chrome fittings with a loop in between (usually chrome) on them fittings there will be tap or taps open one or both and the water shall flow into the boiler. take note of the pressure gage as it goes up stop at around 1 bar. if its the turbo max with the green buttons on i bet its the de aerator on the pump or the diverter valve leaking..

    if its the old type it may be the packing gland leaking on the water valve in the middle of the boiler
     
  7. gas4you

    gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    21,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm having a bit of a senior moment :eek: Does the Turbo max not have a built in filling loop :confused:
     
  8. timmy74

    timmy74

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    340
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the new ones do but im used to working on the older versions with a black drop down front and green buttons... sorry for the confusion :LOL:
     
  9. biggiebig

    biggiebig

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tnks for the replies guys,

    so do you recommend refilling the system first.

    Even though it may have a leak.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. biggiebig

    biggiebig

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also do you guys think it needs a new diverter valve as suggested by a plummer I phoned.
     
  12. timmy74

    timmy74

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    340
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes to see if it will make the boiler fire
     
  13. gas4you

    gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    21,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If he is diagnosing over the 'phone then get someone in who will have a look and inspect and diagnose on site :eek:

    Yes pressurise first. Without this you will not have a clue as to whats going on with the boiler :rolleyes:
     
  14. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,039
    Thanks Received:
    4,595
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your first posting said the boiler fired up when a hot tap was turned on!

    If that is the case then the diverter would seem to be working OK.

    Obviously ( to most anyway ) the boiler has to have the correct operating pressure of about 1.5 bar.

    If water is leaking then that needs to be fixed.


    As you have tenants you must by law have a Gas Safety Certificate!

    Always better to call a boiler engineer rather than a plumber!

    Tony Glazier
     
  15. biggiebig

    biggiebig

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    repressured the boiler and it's working now.

    Tenent said it was leaking from the bottom of the boiler (near the water pump area) fired it up and I couldn't located any leaks.

    So i've placed a bowl under it and told them to watch out for water a leak.
     
  16. suffolklad

    suffolklad

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if it was my system id have it all drained and new scale rust inhibitor and water put in sytem before i run it
     
  17. gas4you

    gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    21,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes quite correct but the leak needs to be sorted first otherwise it will cost a fortune in wasted inhibitor :eek:
     
Loading...

Share This Page