Venting Requirements

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

First post, but have been reading it for years to pick up tips! I have a very simple question, but I have no knowledge in this area. Your advice is appreciated.

There is a manhole at the back of the property. Within a 1.5m of it, you have two rain water pipes, a toilet and bath waste going directly in to the manhole.

Do you need any sort of vent pipe on this set up, or will the open drain, and rain pipes suffice?

It's just that I want to replace the 4" asbestos cement rain pipe with a smaller pipe. I'm guessing the large pipe is just from an older rain water system, but wanted to make sure that it wasn't that size for venting reasons.

Sponsored Links
Shocking :eek:

The blue pipe is your vent pipe and should extend past your soffit. The running outlet from the gutter should not be run to drain unless you live in an area with a combined foul & rainwater sewerage system. Ask your neighbours not the water board as they will make you correct it, if required.

Best advice is contact a local plumber.

Cheers

Thanks for your response.

Just to clarify, the toilet runs directly into the man hole via a pipe in the concrete floor.

I have the 1972 plans for the extension and it actually shows the sewage going to a septic tank and the rain water going to a soak away. A letter in 1976 suggest the property was to be connected to the mains sewerage.

It all seems to be going into the man hole now. I will need to do further investigation.

The reason the vent pipe doesn't go past the soffit is..................it probably fell off.

Andy

Sponsored Links
Asbestos soil stack??? i didnt no it was ever made, boiler flues due to the high temperatures, soil stacks, i think not, its a cast iron stack, and will cost you a hell of a lot less to expose of than a asbestos one would