1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Video doorbell - connecting power to CU

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Sprogginz, 1 Jul 2021.

  1. Sprogginz

    Sprogginz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here is the CU:

    CU.jpg

    Here is the link to the transformer

    It looks like it will only take up one module.

    If so, I have seen on YouTube someone connecting the live wire to the first floor lighting module and the neutral to the appropriate neutral bar.

    I am planning on using 2-core 0.75mm cable to connect to the transformer from the video doorbell and assume it will be protected enough from interference.

    If this is all still doable, what size cables (tails) must I use to connect to the first floor module and the neutral bar?

    Thanks very much.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. magicmushroom666

    magicmushroom666

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1mm or larger, ie same as the lighting circuit your connecting to.
    I wouldn't expect to have interference problems on that.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,851
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,503
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want to put a bell transformer in a CU you will first need to remove, cut down and reinstall the busbar so it doesn't impinge on the module slot. You will also need to use mains-rated cable for the wiring feeding the doorbell as it is running through an environment with a bunch of single-insulated mains wiring.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Sprogginz

    Sprogginz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all your advice and noted.
    Regarding the wiring that connects to the neighbouring module and neutral bar, can the wires be the same as the 1mm wire that connects the transformer to the doorbell or do they have to be proper tails and if so what size? They're quite expensive.
     
  8. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,851
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    they don't need to be tails. They are very thick.

    Just the normal cable used on lighting circuits. 1.0mm or 1.5mm
     
  9. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,906
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is, indeed a transformer: AC in. AC out.

    However, the unit the OP linked to is NOT A TRANSFORMER, it is a 24V DC power supply. A transformer will not work for this application.
    This highlights the problem with using incorrect terminology, which is being discussed in another thread!
     
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,861
    Thanks Received:
    4,128
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    upload_2021-7-2_14-14-33.png

    It transforms 240V AC - to something else.

    It does not transform modular bells.
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page