1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Visonic PowermaxComplete, siren batteries not lasting

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Jackswan, 19 Aug 2020.

  1. Jackswan

    Jackswan

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    Had a Visonic Powermax Complete alarm system fitted back in 2014. This came with the MCS-740 wireless siren, but finding that the battery only lasts a maximum of 12 months and it is becoming expensive to replace every year.
    Wondering if it is the distance of the alarm panel from the siren or whether it is the 20 inch walls between the two that is causing the quick depletion of the battery?
    Thinking whether it would be worthwhile to go for a mains powered siren that would be compatible with the Powermax? I understand that there is a Visonic expander module that clips into the main alarm box for the cost of about £18, but what siren is compatible with it?
     
    Last edited: 19 Aug 2020
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,006
    Thanks Received:
    2,469
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The battery rate of depletion depends only on the current consumption of the receiver in the siren. That consumption is not affected by the distance between the siren and the panel.

    The receiver has to constantly alert to ensure alarm messages from the siren are received.

    One solution would be to drill a hole behind the panel and feed the siren with power from a power supply unit inside the house. The wire should not be visible as cutting it will disable the siren.
     
  4. Jackswan

    Jackswan

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The battery is supposed to last for up to three years, so cannot understand why it only lasts for 12 months. This must have been the fifth battery that has been replaced in the siren in the last six years and they are not cheap at between £25-£35 each time.
    Don’t think you can run a power supply from the house to this siren, unless you know different? Guessing that you mean a transformer?

    Pictured are the new batteries for the siren
     

    Attached Files:

  5. E999

    E999

    Joined:
    8 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We find the seem to last around 2-2.5yrs so we just change when servicing alarm at 2yrs.

    Siren only has to do 1 x 10 min sound off and youve hammered the battery!!
     
  6. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,006
    Thanks Received:
    2,469
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The battery pack is marked as 7Ah which equates to 0.8 milli Amps continuous load for one year or less than 3 milli Amps for three years. That is a very low current for a wireless receiver

    And as E999 has posted sounding the alarm and/or any strobe lights will significantly reduce battery life.

    A power supply unit producing 3.5 volt DC ( as marked on the battery )

    Output current would need to be :-

    (1) enough to supply the siren when it was sounding, possibly 5 amps.

    (2) able to provide less than a few milli Amps continuously when not sounding (*)

    (*) Some power supply units ( switched mode types ) have a minimum current loading, If the siren takes less current than that minimum then the unit is likely to become un-stable. Adding a dummy load ( resistor ) to take that minimum current would be needed.

    Switch Mode Power Supplies radiate some radio frequency energy, if the SMPS is close to a wireless receiver then this radiated energy can compromise the wireless receiver's ability to receive signals.


    A transformer produces AC which would not be suitable for the siren.
     
  7. Jackswan

    Jackswan

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, thanks for going through that:D. But the original question that I asked was, can I fit a mains powered siren using the Visonic expander module which clips inside the alarm module? And which one?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,767
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The MCS 730 AC bell box has auxiliary 12 volt input to connect a remote power supply.check to see if compatible with your control panel.
    You could put power supply in loft to power bell box.
    Are the led's enabled on your bell box as this will drain the battery a lot quicker.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. Jackswan

    Jackswan

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LEDs are not enabled, have a separate battery pack driving two leds in the box.

    The MCS730 has been discontinued and cannot find it for sale anywhere.
    Just wondering if I can use a separate powered siren (Such as a Texecom) running from The Visonic expander module (picture on one of the posts above]?
     
  11. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,767
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Security warehouse are showing availability. Screenshot_20200819-203254.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Jackswan

    Jackswan

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That’s steep for a discontinued item. Looking for something way cheaper than that:eek:
     
  13. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    71,074
    Thanks Received:
    4,027
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    You're paying a lot for single-use batteries.

    I would be tempted to fit a rechargeable one, with a PSU matched to it connected inside the house.

    Is there room in the case for something bigger?
     
  14. Jackswan

    Jackswan

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They are very expensive for single use batteries. With the wrapper off you can see the batteries, 3.6v Chinese lithium type. Did notice that you can buy them as singles on amazon, but still £6.75 each, so not really saving.
    The battery compartment in the siren has two compartments with a plastic door that weather seals them. They fit snug in there, so not much room.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,583
    Thanks Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Will have paid for itself in 3 years !
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page