Wallpaper being a 5HIT!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Can anyone please help me out here!

I have some paste the wall wallpaper that i am pulling my hair out trying to hang... it is a Homebase one -
http://www.homebase.co.uk/en/homebaseuk/vymura-synergy-stripe-vinyl-wallcovering---plum-265122

I have done this wall already -

IMG_2064.JPG

You cant really see from this image but the joints are now VERY visible and its got more air pockets in than i would have liked; i am no decorator but i have plenty of experience of hanging paper, this one though... its a pain! it does feel good quality and isnt ripping etc but i just cant get it to hang without air pockets, most will push out but even when i peel it back and brush it in they appear!

The other issue is the joints, when i am hanging it the joints are perfect! seamless infact but by the time i cut the bottom and wipe clean the joints have pushed up together and stand off the wall, so either the paper is moving OR it is expanding... its not supposed to expand.

What can i do!? what am i doing wrong?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Have you read the instructions that have come with the wallpaper
Did you size the wall and let dry prior to hanging.
Depending on the type of paper you either Paste and hang straight away,

or you paste well allow to soak thoroughly,( I paste up to three pieces at one time, then hang the first pasted piece ) it also sounds as you are stretching the paper as you hang, once on the wall on shrinks

Vinyl wallpapers aren't supposed to expand & therefore don't need soaking.

It's possible that you're overworking the paper.

Slap it on, edge it up & brush it over once or twice . . . then leave it.

Let it expand & bubble up all it wants too, what matters is when it's dry.

Come back to that wall in the morning & you might be pleasantly surprised.