Washing machine wont fill

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Please help. I have a visual impairment and this is proving more difficult of a task. I'm a complete noob when it comes to DIY.

Recently, my family member helped install a new U bend bc I can't see well and this new one has enough things to fit a washing machine and dishwasher.

Before this, my dishwasher wasn't hooked up and my washing machine was and worked fine. After family member went away, I found the washing machine wasn't draining. Plumber came out and found that family forgot to remove something that meant the water couldn't get through the pipes.

Plumber sorted that out and ran a test spin and drain to make sure it was draining. It is so now that's fixed.

Problem is, when I start a cycle now on the washing machine, nothing happens. I don't get any sound that it is filling. Even though I think I can feel the water flowing through the pipe.

I don't see the drum filling with water either and the program on the washing machine keeps pausing.

It's been nothing but trouble since this was installed the other day.

Also, I have a red tap and a blue tap (one hot one cold?) And the washing machine is attached to the red tap. Does that matter? I read the manual and it says it should connect to a cold water tap only but my dishwasher is hooked up to that right now. Do I need to get something so I can run both machines off of the cold tap? Woukd that even work?

I'm terrified of messing with this because last time I ended up flooding my kitchen. (I couldn't see that I hadn't turned off the water tap before removing the hose)

Which way means that the tap is turned off? I can turn it vertical or horizontal. I've tried both ways while trying to get the washing machine to fill but it didn't work.

Honestly I'm usually not this stupid with things, but this is very confusing to me and I just want to be able to get clean clothes.

Please help.

Sponsored Links