waterproof footings

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, newbie here.
Bit of advice please.
My elderly neighbour has a water tub touching our boundary fence which overflows regularly,
flooding my side.
I have asked her son politely many times to sort it, and have even offered to move the water tub to the other end of her garage at my own expence.... but alas nothing gets done.
SO!
I am going to dig a trench to the end of our fence which is approx 2 mtrs long.
I wil dig down to approx 400 mm below ground, the put up a bit of shuttering to a height of about 150mm above ground and in effect construct a retaining plynth.

a couple of questions please: (a) I am thinking of adding a cement waterproofer to the mix, what do you think?

(b) being a lot older than I think I am and I will probably struggle to mix this amount of concrete, I was wondering if I could buy a crop of fence post mix and add the waterproofer and just slit the managable bag and pour the contents into the trench.

Your thoughts and opinions are welcome.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
never thought of the drilling of holes...Lol!

so no water proofer eh!

Ref. the fence post idea, do you think my dam made of post mix will stop the water coming through to my side, or will it be porous?

It could be classed as an environmental nuisance.
To direct rainwater onto your neighbour's property clearly breaches the convention of dealing with rainwater.
This is what you neighbour has done, in a roundabout way.
Therefore contact your local environmental department for advice. They may serve an enforcement notice on your neighbour.

Hi everyone, newbie here.
Bit of advice please.
My elderly neighbour has a water tub touching our boundary fence which overflows regularly,
flooding my side.
I have asked her son politely many times to sort it, and have even offered to move the water tub to the other end of her garage at my own expence.... but alas nothing gets done.
SO!