Weeping wall plate - stuck for ideas.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello folks, I'm a reasonably competent DIY plumber and am completely flumoxed by a persitently weeping wall plate.

I am installing a wall mounted shower mixer valve (Ideal Standard) and have used brass wallmounts. The shower fitting comes with a fitting to screw in (see picture). The thread on this is of a 'jagged' design I have not come across before.

plumb.jpg

Normally when dealing with a wall plate and screwing in a fitting, copious amounts of PTFE stops any weeps. I have tried this, even fibre washers stuffed in, but to no avail. I get an annoying weep when water pressure is restored. Am I missing something here?

Appreciate any help

Thanks

Chris

Sponsored Links
The jags are to make the ptfe grip. You have to wind it on tight and run your thumbnail round the thread sometimes.
I wouldn't add boss white, but have added silicone (LS-X) and it works, for the odd crazy one which won't seal.

Strachan said:
Ptfe tape and a bit of Boss white, or other jointing compound will sort it out.
Never mix Boss white and PTFE. They are both oil based and the BW degrades the PFTE.

A good wrapping of PTFE never usually fails

Look out for a split or crack on the seam of the fittings. Doesnt happen often but when it does it tortures you and has your life.

Sponsored Links
Now i never knew that :eek: That`s straight from Boss technical department when i rang to ask if they were compatible for a steam fitting. I stand corrected. Cheers slug.

had a similar problem with a 15mm nut only after changing the olive twice , i removed it to find a hairline crack in it .then it broke in two after hitting the wall at great speed. :mad:

All,

Overwhelmed by the responses - many thanks indeed.

I'll try again :D

I have some LS-K, so will wind on the PTFE again and a smudge of LSK and see how it goes (checking for hairline cracks first!)