1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

What cable size do I need for a 6 gang switch for these kitchen appliances?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by NEDA, 29 Mar 2021.

  1. NEDA

    NEDA

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    I need your help on this as soon as possible.

    What cable size do I need for a 6 gang switch for the following kitchen appliances:

    • Extractor Fan
    • Fridge
    • Freezer
    • Dish Washer
    • Tumble Dryer
    • Oven

    They all have to be on the same 6 gang switch.

    I am looking forward to your assistance.

    Thank you!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Chunkytfg

    Chunkytfg

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get an Electrician to do it before you set your house on fire!!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,830
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    00 what he said.gif
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. TimboTwo

    TimboTwo

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will need at least 4 new circuits in there, which are notifiable works under Part P of the Building Regulations. All works require testing and certifying in accordance with BS7671:2018.

    As above, get an electrician in. If you are willing to do the donkey work, they will probably give you a better price - but only if you do it right. Ask and see.
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    74,264
    Thanks Received:
    4,290
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    what do you mean by an "oven?"
     
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,456
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No they don't.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    14,131
    Thanks Received:
    799
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would go so far as to say, "No, they can't."
     
  10. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the "6-gang switch" consisted of six 20A grid switches, then I suppose it "could" be done (provided the appropriate circuits were available).

    However, I agree with everyone else that the OP clearly needs an electrician.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  11. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,591
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whether it can be done on one plate really depends on the current required for the oven, most modular switch ranges offer 20A switches. Click minigrid goes further and offers 32A switches. For current ratings beyond that I doubt you will find a modular system that people would want for switches on their kitchen wall.
     
  12. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All true, but if 'oven' means oven, then it's quite likely that it will be less than 20A - after all, many come with 13A plugs. All the other appliances the OP mentioned are obviously well under 20A.

    One might, of course, ask why the OP wants all these switches.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  13. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,789
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No reason why the op shouldn't have all those switches.

    It's a normal thing to have in some kitchens.

    Some house builders insist on it.

    Others definitely don't want that kind of set-up.

    However, the op's initial question was so vague it doesn't inspire much confidence to tell him too much.

    If, on the other hand, he could provide details on the oven, how many radial and/or ring circuits he intends to fit, how he will fuse the fan down, what size protective device(s) there will be at the mains...

    It may be able to be done with just one particular size of cable, but without much info it's difficult to give a good definite and safe answer.
     
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,641
    Thanks Received:
    3,190
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No reason at all, provided they are installed in an acceptable and compliant fashion.

    However, many people seem to think that there is a regulatory requirement for them, which is why I suggested that we might aske the OP for his reason - if it's just a personal preference then fair enough, but if he thinks that they are a 'requirement', he might welcome being told that he doesn't have to have them if he doesn't want to.
    Exactly - which is why so many of us have suggested that he needs to consult an electrician.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  15. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page