What Painting and Decorating qualifications do I need?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been working a boring office job for the last too many years and for the last year and a half I have been plucking up the courage to quit and become a painter & decorator. I’ve always been creative and hands on around my own house. A few years ago I got into upcycling and furniture painting and the desire to develop my skills further, leave an office and never return is growing stronger by the minute. I’m not going to lie it’s a scary thought, but the thought of spending the rest of my working life behind the desk is 1000x scarier. I have spent hours looking for painting and decorating courses but any course where you gain some form of recognised qualification (level 1 diploma for example) are full-time in collages which I can’t really do because of the full time job I will have to stay in for the time being. Do I need Level 1 Diploma if I am planning to go off on my own? I am also thinking about how much I’d be able to learn in a recognised course? Are weekend courses enough?

Any experience, tips, advice would be much appreciated. I’m looking for a course in Leeds/Doncaster/York area.

Also, any advice of setting up your own business? Should I work for someone else to begin with?

Sponsored Links
Hmm, I dont think painting and decorating pays that well and its physically tiring work. Think twice before quitting your job

You do not NEED a qualification.....you just need to be able to do the jobs. Painting is easy and fun, wallpapering is trickier and more fraught with problems which'll attack your profit margin and credibility. There's loads of work around, and your presentability, professionalism, reliability and promptness will trump some Dipoloma or other, I promise you.

PM me if you want more details of how to get started.

As wabbit says ^^^.
Good quality work at a reasonable price is what you want to aim for.