What shower pump do I need, what kind of water system?!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Newbie here, and a complete noob when it comes to plumbing.

First question is; what kind of plumbing system do we have? We have a hot water tank in the airing cupboard in an upstairs bedroom, and I think some kind of hot water tank in the loft. Pretty sure the cold runs directly off of the stop cock under the sink in the kitchen.

We have good water pressure at all taps in the house, including the hot water. However, when we try using the mixer tap shower head in the bathroom, hot water comes out slowly (but fast out of the tap), and cold comes out very fast through the shower head or tap. If we try mixing hot and cold, the cold completely cuts off the hot water coming out of the shower head. Hence we can only have scalding hot dribbling showers, or blasting freezing cold showers. Not fun!

Looking to install a pump under the bath to fit a shower to (probably just a mixer tap shower), but wondered what kind of pump I need? Negative or positive, and any recommendations on what bar I need?

Thanks in advance guys!

Cheers,

Ryan

Sponsored Links
Sounds like you have gravity fed hot water (cold supply cistern in loft feeding a vented hot water cylinder in the bedroom) with mains cold water. If you can get hot water at the shower head at maximum height without the cold on at the moment then you should get away with a normal, positive head, pump.
The issue you have at the moment is you have mains pressure cold water feeding the shower with gravity hot water and that pressure imbalance is why the cold stops the hot.
Ideally you want to have a dedicated cold feed from the cold tank up in the loft and a dedicated hot from the cylinder so the pressures are balanced and run that through a twin impeller pump. Stuart Turner pumps are my recommended choice and if affordable, with brass ended impellers.
http://www.stuart-turner.co.uk/products/monsoon/s15-bar-twin/