1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

What size cable and MCB for a 14kW cooker

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Keeffey84, 19 Dec 2019.

  1. Keeffey84

    Keeffey84

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I'm hoping someone can offer some advice on a new cooker I want fitting.

    I want to replace my old cooker with a new one with induction hob. The new cooker/hob is rated at 13.9kW and the existing cable is 6mm from a 30a MCB. The length of the cable should only be about 3 meters (my fuse board is in one of the kitchen cupboards near the cooker).

    I've had 2 electricians quote for the job but both had told me different things so I'm unsure which one to use.

    1st electrician said the new cooker can be connected to the existing cable and it should be a fairly simple job.

    2nd electrician has said that the cable needs changing to 10mm and a 40a MCB needs fitting (which is obviously gonna involve a bit more work removing the tiles & cupboards to fit the new cable).

    Could anybody shed some light on which one I should use? I rather go for the quick and simple option and get the cooker in for Christmas as long as the cable already there is ok to use.

    Thanks,
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    34,002
    Thanks Received:
    3,727
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    First electrician is correct.

    Is the MCB 30A or 32A - it makes no difference, just want to be sure.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Keeffey84

    Keeffey84

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply. The MCB is 30a, the fuse board is an old'ish wylex one which I'm hoping to get replaced next year.
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    34,002
    Thanks Received:
    3,727
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok. Yes, I thought either old or misprint. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    66,708
    Thanks Received:
    3,643
    Location:
    Coastal
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    your old wylex board is probably unsuitable for a 40A MCB.

    And probably also overdue for a change.

    Is it brown, white, or grey?

    Not much chance of getting it finished by Christmas, except that some induction hobs can be range rated to limit the amount of current they draw.

    This is a restaurant kitchen, is it? four ovens, six rings?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Keeffey84

    Keeffey84

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fuse board is white (or was at some point). Tbf both electricians recommended a new fuse board which I'm looking to get replaced in the new year.

    The cooker has grill/oven plus a oven and 4 hobs.
     
  9. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,467
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Belling induction cooker just moved it from old house max draw around 60A but it has been supplied for last 10 years with a 32A MCB in a Wilex fuse board with no problem and the instructions say min 30A supply so no real problem from a 30A fuse.

    Now still on a 32A RCBO and very unlikely to trip. A single hob may be rated 3.8 kW but in real terms it can only be used at that power to boil water, anything else it would burn. So for most things it is not used over 1.4 kW and even then only for a short time before it needs to be turned down.
     
  10. Keeffey84

    Keeffey84

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your advice on this. I'm gonna get it fitted on the existing cable and can always upgrade the cable at some point in the future when I have it re-wired.

    Thanks.
     
  11. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,026
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are no normal domestic cooker / hob / oven combinations that would require any kind of upgrade.
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    34,002
    Thanks Received:
    3,727
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Plus - as long as the 6mm² cable does not run through any thermal insulation or conduit, a 40A or 45A Mcg could be fitted.
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page