what to stick on to soundproof back of door?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've got an internal stud wall, with a door in it...well, 2 doors actually - 2 old wooden panel doors facing each other, with a 4 inch gap between them.
I want to stick or fix something to the back of one or both of the doors to reduce transmission of speech.

I'd appreciate any thoughts on:
-Any ideas on what to stick or fix to the back of the door(s)?
-Sound insulate one or both?
-What kind of flange or seal around the edges of doors works well?
-I'm attempting to increase sound insulation in the walls by building a separate stud wall next to existing.
I could then rehang one of the doors on this separate stud, increasing the gap between the two doors to approx 8 inches - is this worth doing?

Thanks for reading,
Stephen

Sponsored Links
I know this is Late, but others may have similar questions:
I am an acoustic consultant. this is my professional specialty. I design this type of arrangement for Hotels Studios and other scenarios where high sound insulation is needed through a wall with a door. Allow for a larger door jamb (door stop) to give space for a larger seal on this surface.

1) the MOST important factor is that the seals on the doors are properly engaged. Next is the quality of the seals on the doors.