Which is the one question to ask?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
If there was one question to ask a plumber or central heating expert to gauge the depth of his/her competence what would it be?

I'm new to an area and don't have any references for tradesmen. Already have one botched plumbing job :oops: so I'm trying to find someone good to fix it and also trying to find a central heating engineer to fit new rads and central heating.

My theory is 'the longer someone works in a field of expertise the more well versed they become.' So there has to be a "definitive question" to ask, a "theoretical problem to pose" to a plumber which a rookie or chancer won't get right and the expert be able to answer without batting an eyelid.

Perhaps there are two or three questions to ask with varying degrees of complexity that will sort "the men from the boys"?

So can someone please tell me what those questions are!!!!!! :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
ask him ,"tea or coffee" always works with me

Sponsored Links
There are some people round the north west who talk a great job, know the theory and have got the gab to price up jobs very nicely but then sub them on to the "workhorses" after taking their tidy cut. The usual applies, three quotes (plus one from bg for a laugh) and try to get a recommendation from someone local who has recently had some work done. :cool:

Thanks Andy .. so big firms are not always better? I've got one sending me a quote in the next couple of days and I'm sure it's going to be at least a grand more expensive than the "two man team" that came the other day. After a dismal plumbing experience I'm scared to make the wrong choice!

Well here's a couple of starters :D

Is it permissable to use a BS1212 Part 1 float valve on a F&E cistern?

Provide at least 5 reasons for loss of water seal in a typical basin P trap and how they can be prevented.

In relation to NPSH how can cavitation be avoided on a high head shower pump?